Selection of Philippine avian wildlife all captured in habitat, plus nature and miscellaneous images.

Close-up of a Philippine Woodpecker

This bird was previously called the Philippine Pygmy Woodpecker. As its former common name implies it’s a micro-jackhammer, with a total length of merely 5.5 inches.

It is found only in the Philippines, where it ranges in most major islands except the Palawan group and Masbate. It is often seen creeping up tree trunks and branches in forest, edge, and even in city parks. It has a loud trilling call.

I was birding at Subic rainforest in 2006 when I noticed this individual pecking low at a tree trunk. I inched my way towards the bird,  lifting and setting my gear + tripod slowly, and taking some shots at each closer position until I got near enough for frame-filling, eye-level captures. 🙂

Shooting Info – Subic rainforest, Zambales, Philippines, October 11, 2006, Canon 20D + EF 500 f4 IS + Canon 1.4x TC II, 700 mm, f/5.6, ISO 800, 1/125 sec, manual exposure in available light, 475B/3421 support.

Philippine Woodpecker (Dendrocopos maculatus, a Philippine endemic)

Habitat – Lowland and montane forest and edge, in understory and canopy.

Here are some footage of the bird, including a clip where it is calling.

3 responses

  1. Great close up!

    September 4, 2011 at 3:33 am

  2. Anonymous

    Nice photos. You’re an inspiration to aspiring photographers like me – only that I shoot Nikon. hehe. WTG Sir!

    July 2, 2011 at 11:13 am

  3. Oh sweep! What a fantastic image!

    May 27, 2011 at 12:25 am

Leave a comment